Optional analytics and affiliate attribution are off until you make an affirmative choice.

Privacy settings

Optional analytics and affiliate attribution are off until you make an affirmative choice. You can allow them separately, reject both, or withdraw a previous choice.

Necessary page delivery, security and storage of your privacy choice continue. See our Privacy Policy.

Switching from Clover: your seller's contract, device subscriptions and your data

Updated Oct 6, 2026

The short answer

Clover's termination fees vary by the provider that sold it to you, so ask them first. Clover's own terms end on 30 days' written notice. Device subscriptions are non-cancelable and not refunded, but can be paid off at any time. Download your data before you leave: Clover allows a reasonable period to extract it, then deletes it.

The steps

  1. Step 1 · not stated on its pages · Not published; set by your provider

    Ask your provider for your term and fee

    Clover says contract terms and termination fees vary by who sold it: Clover Direct or a partner such as Citi, PNC or Wells Fargo.

    source
  2. Step 2 · not stated on its pages · Payoff amount not stated; subscriptions can be paid off at any time

    Settle any device subscription

    Device subscriptions can't be canceled or refunded, but can be paid off; at term end, buy or return the equipment.

    source
  3. Step 3 · not stated on its pages · not stated on its pages

    Download your data

    Download your data or sync it to QuickBooks or Xero; formats are not stated.

    source
  4. Step 4 · not stated on its pages · not stated on its pages

    Import items into Square

    Use Square's item import tool to add items in bulk from an Excel or CSV spreadsheet.

    source
  5. Step 5 · 3-5 business days · Price from Square sales, not published

    Or pay Square for setup tasks

    Square's task services take specific setup tasks off your hands.

    source
  6. Step 6 · not stated on its pages · POS Pro $89 a month per location, billed yearly

    Or move to Shopify POS

    Free migration and setup support with a POS Pro yearly subscription; migration apps available.

    source
  7. Step 7 · 30 days · No fee in Clover's terms

    Give Clover 30 days' written notice

    Clover's terms end on 30 days' notice; notices go by postal mail.

    source
  8. Step 8 · A 'reasonable period' (length not stated) · not stated on its pages

    Extract data before deletion

    After termination Clover allows a reasonable period to extract account data, then deletes it.

    source

Carries over

  • Clover lets you download data or sync it to QuickBooks or Xero.
  • Device subscriptions can be paid off at any time.
  • At term end you can buy the equipment instead of returning it.
  • Square imports items from an Excel or CSV spreadsheet.

What you lose

  • Your exit fee depends on who sold you Clover and isn't published.
  • Device subscriptions can't be canceled or refunded.
  • Clover deletes account data after an unstated 'reasonable period'.
  • Clover doesn't say its devices work with another processor.

Where to switch to

DestinationPrice fromVisit
Square POS
No affiliate relationship
$0 per monthVisit Square POSOn squareup.com
Shopify POS
No affiliate relationship
$39 per monthVisit Shopify POSOn shopify.com

With Clover, the first question is who sold it to you. Clover says contract terms and termination fees vary by service provider: Clover Direct or a partner such as Citi, PNC or Wells Fargo. Your exit cost is in that seller's contract, not on Clover's site. We read Clover's pricing page, terms and public product pages, and the destinations' own pages, on Sep 30, 2026. Clover's Help Center shows articles only after you log in.

Find your contract and fee

Clover publishes no early termination fee. Its terms of service allow either side to end them with 30 days' notice, sent in writing by postal mail. That covers Clover's own terms of service only. Your agreement with the provider that sold you Clover may set its own term and fee. Ask your provider for the term end date and any fee in writing before you set a switch date.

Check your device subscription

If you pay for devices monthly, Clover's FAQ says subscriptions are non-cancelable and ineligible for refunds. You can pay a subscription off at any time, or break it during a buyout or an upgrade. At the end of the term you buy or return the equipment. If you do neither, the subscription carries on at the same monthly charge. Clover's pages don't say whether its devices work with another processor, so plan on new hardware unless your next POS says otherwise.

Get your data out

Clover says you can download your data or sync it to QuickBooks or Xero. It doesn't say which formats, and the step-by-step guides are behind the Help Center login. When the Clover terms end, Clover gives you a reasonable period of time to extract your account data and then deletes it. No length is given, so download reports, items and customer lists while your account is still active.

Where to go

Square POS has no long-term contract on standard pricing. It also says you can use hardware you already own, though it doesn't list which brands. Items can be bulk-imported from a spreadsheet in Excel or CSV format. Square's task services take specific setup tasks off your hands and take 3-5 business days. Their price comes from sales. Square Free takes 2.6% + 15¢ in person, against Clover Starter's 2.6% + 10¢ (both read Sep 27, 2026).

Shopify POS includes free migration and setup support with a POS Pro yearly subscription and points to POS migration apps. POS Pro costs $89 a month per location, billed yearly, on top of a Shopify plan. Prices read Sep 30, 2026. Shopify's help-centre migration guide showed a bot check, so we could not confirm which Clover data its apps import. No timeline is stated.

Neither destination names a Clover importer. Expect to move items by spreadsheet.

Timing the switch

  1. Get your term end date and any fee from whoever sold you Clover.
  2. Export your data while the account is active.
  3. Set up Square or Shopify and run it alongside Clover.
  4. Send Clover and your provider written notice.
  5. Buy out or return any subscribed devices.

Who should switch

Switch if your contract is month-to-month or ending soon, or if you want a POS with no long-term contract on standard pricing. Wait if you are partway through a device subscription: it can't be canceled or refunded, only paid off. Clover's Go reader costs $199 (read Sep 27, 2026), and its pages don't say it works with another processor, so count new hardware in the cost of switching. Compare the options in our POS ranking and see how we score POS systems.

Report an error on this page