Optional analytics and affiliate attribution are off until you make an affirmative choice.

Privacy settings

Optional analytics and affiliate attribution are off until you make an affirmative choice. You can allow them separately, reject both, or withdraw a previous choice.

Necessary page delivery, security and storage of your privacy choice continue. See our Privacy Policy.

Switching from RingCentral: the contract term decides what leaving costs

Updated Oct 15, 2026

The short answer

Porting a number out of RingCentral is free, and RingCentral issues no personal port-out PIN: enter 0000 if asked. The cost is the contract. Leave before the term ends and you owe the rest of it, and the term renews unless you give 30 days' notice. Export recordings first, since RingCentral keeps them 90 days, then cancel through support once the port completes.

Medium: data exports, a port request at the new provider, contacting support to cancel
Effort
source
5–10 business days at Nextiva; 2–4 weeks if the request is rejected or has discrepancies
Timeline
source
Not stated by RingCentral; the number stays active until the port completes
Downtime
source
The rest of the term if you leave early; no port-out fee, per RingCentral's porting FAQ
Cost of switching
source

The steps

  1. Step 1 · Notice at least 30 days before the term ends · The rest of the term if you leave early

    Find your contract end date

    The term renews for the same length unless either side gives notice of non-renewal at least 30 days before it ends. Leaving early means paying the rest of the term.

    source
  2. Step 2 · Before recordings pass 90 days on RingCentral's servers · not stated on its pages

    Export recordings, call logs and chats

    Download from the Admin Portal or app, or use RingClone or the API. Archiver (Advanced and Ultra plans) backs up to cloud storage.

    source
  3. Step 3 · not stated on its pages · No RingCentral port-out fee

    Collect your port-out details

    Company name, service address and a Super Admin username, exactly as on the account. RingCentral gives no personal PIN; enter 0000 if the new provider asks.

    source
  4. Step 4 · not stated on its pages · not stated on its pages

    Take porting numbers out of call-handling rules

    During the port RingCentral replaces the moving numbers with temporary numbers, which overwrite rules that point at them.

    source
  5. Step 5 · 5–10 business days at Nextiva; 2–4 weeks if rejected · No charge to port in to Nextiva, per its porting blog

    Request the port at Nextiva (or Dialpad or Zoom Phone)

    Nextiva uses its PorterIQ form and a DocuSign letter of authorization. Dialpad averages 7 days for local ports; Zoom Phone gives 4-21 days for up to 99 numbers.

    source
  6. Step 6 · Until the new carrier completes the port · Your monthly RingCentral service until then

    Keep RingCentral active until the port completes

    The number must stay active during the port, and RingCentral bills monthly service until the port is complete.

    source
  7. Step 7 · not stated on its pages · Charges continue until you cancel

    Cancel RingCentral through support

    Once the numbers have ported away, contact support to cancel and stop further charges.

    source

Carries over

  • Your phone numbers, ported free of any RingCentral fee
  • Call recordings and account data you download or back up before deletion
  • Call log for up to 12 months
  • Team chat history, exported as a ZIP file

What you lose

  • Call recordings older than 90 days
  • Chat attachments: the export holds links, not files
  • Prepaid months: no refund unless RingCentral breached the contract
  • Archiver backups unless you're on Advanced or Ultra

Where to switch to

DestinationPrice fromVisit
Nextiva Business Phone Service
No affiliate relationship
$15 per monthVisit Nextiva Business Phone ServiceOn nextiva.com
Dialpad
No affiliate relationship
$15 per monthVisit DialpadOn dialpad.com
Zoom Phone
No affiliate relationship
$10.50 per monthVisit Zoom PhoneOn zoom.com

Leaving RingCentral RingEX comes down to three jobs: save your data before RingCentral deletes it, port your numbers to the new provider, and handle the contract. The port is free. The contract is where the money is. Facts below come from each company's own pages, read Sep 30, 2026. For how porting works in general, see keeping your business number.

Check your contract first

RingCentral's terms of service renew your plan for another term of the same length unless either side gives notice of non-renewal at least 30 days before the term ends. If you end service before the term is up, you pay, within 30 days, everything accrued plus all sums left for the rest of the term. A pro-rata refund of prepaid fees is written only for leaving because of RingCentral's breach. The cheapest exit is the end of a term, with notice sent in time. Our guide to contracts and cancelling compares these terms across providers.

Save your data

RingCentral deletes data on a schedule: automatic and on-demand call recordings stay on its servers for 90 days, with a cap of 100,000 automatic recordings per account, and the call log for 12 months (nine for some accounts). Its pages don't say how long anything stays readable after you cancel, so export before the port. The retention page lists three routes: download from the Admin Portal or the RingCentral app, the third-party RingClone app, or the API. RingCentral Archiver backs up to Box, Dropbox, Google Drive, SFTP or Smarsh, but only on RingEX Advanced and Ultra. Team chat has its own message data export: up to 180 days per request, as a ZIP file, with links to attachments rather than the files.

Port your numbers out

The new provider requests the port, not you. RingCentral's port-out instructions say the new provider needs your company name, service address and authorized username (a Super Admin), exactly as they appear on the account. RingCentral doesn't issue personal port-out PINs; enter 0000 if asked. Its porting FAQ says there is no port-out fee, though the new provider may charge one, and you keep paying RingCentral until the port completes. How long it takes depends on the new carrier. During the transfer, RingCentral swaps the moving numbers for temporary ones inside your account, so take the porting numbers out of call-handling rules first.

Where to port

  • Nextiva takes ports through its PorterIQ form and a letter of authorization signed in DocuSign. Its porting article says 5–10 business days, or 2–4 weeks if the request is rejected or has discrepancies, and requests can't be expedited. Nextiva doesn't charge to port in. Every customer gets a service-delivery package; one package adds a dedicated implementation manager for up to 100 users and porting support, at a price the page doesn't show.
  • Dialpad ports local US numbers from an online form in your account, once you have a paid subscription. Its porting FAQ says local ports average 7 days and can take upwards of 2 weeks when details don't match. US and Canadian local and toll-free ports are free, and the number keeps working while it moves.
  • Zoom Phone needs a Zoom Phone license for each number before the port starts. Its porting guide gives 4-21 days for 99 numbers or fewer in North America, and 3 to 4 weeks for a project port of 100 or more. The page names no port-in fee.

None of the three names a RingCentral-specific guide on its pages; each points to its general porting process.

Cancel last

Keep RingCentral active until the new provider confirms the port, then contact support to cancel. RingCentral's contact page lists a phone option for help with contracts and renewals.

Who should move now

If your term ends within a few months, leaving costs little beyond the new plan: send notice and time the port for the renewal date. If you started an annual or longer term recently, add up the remaining payments before you move. Compare destinations in the business phone systems ranking.

Report an error on this page