Optional analytics and affiliate attribution are off until you make an affirmative choice.

Privacy settings

Optional analytics and affiliate attribution are off until you make an affirmative choice. You can allow them separately, reject both, or withdraw a previous choice.

Necessary page delivery, security and storage of your privacy choice continue. See our Privacy Policy.

Switching from Dialpad: annual terms, a 3-day refund window and your port-out PIN

Updated Oct 6, 2026

The short answer

Generate a port-out PIN at dialpad.com/portout and give it, with your Company ID, to the new provider, which requests the port. Before that, ask Customer Care to enable recording and voicemail exports. Refunds apply only within 3 days of a charge. Annual plans owe the rest of the year. Export before cancelling: the terms say account data is deleted on termination.

Low to medium: self-serve PIN, but exports need Customer Care
Effort
source
5-10 business days at RingCentral; 10-15 for landlines from smaller carriers
Timeline
source
None stated: RingCentral says the old service works during the port if you make no account changes
Downtime
source
Annual plans owe the rest of the term, plus any disconnection fee
Cost of switching
source

The steps

  1. Step 1 · Notice at least 30 days before the term ends · The rest of the annual term plus any disconnection fee

    Check your term end and notice date

    Plans renew for the same length unless you notify customer service at least 30 days before the term ends. Annual plans owe the rest of the year if ended early.

    source
  2. Step 2 · not stated on its pages · not stated on its pages

    Ask Customer Care to enable recording and voicemail exports

    The recordings, voicemail and text-log exports are off by default.

    source
  3. Step 3 · Within your plan's access window (45 days to one year) · not stated on its pages

    Export call logs, recordings and voicemails

    Exports arrive as a CSV download link by email; recording and voicemail exports link to mp3 files.

    source
  4. Step 4 · not stated on its pages · not stated on its pages

    Generate a port-out PIN

    At dialpad.com/portout enter the number to get a PIN; every number you port out shares the same PIN. The account number is the Company ID on your invoice.

    source
  5. Step 5 · 5-10 business days at RingCentral · RingCentral covers the cost of negotiating the transfer

    Request the port at RingCentral (or Nextiva or Zoom Phone)

    RingCentral uses a digitally signed letter of authorization in your online account and needs a paid account. Nextiva publishes Dialpad-specific steps.

    source
  6. Step 6 · not stated on its pages · No refund after 3 days from the charge

    Cancel Dialpad after the port completes

    Monthly plans with 10 licenses or fewer cancel under Billing Summary; annual plans or more than 10 licenses go through Customer Success.

    source

Carries over

  • Your numbers, with a PIN you generate yourself
  • Analytics reports as CSV
  • Recordings and voicemails as mp3 links, once exports are enabled
  • Text logs, once that export is enabled

What you lose

  • Anything past your plan's access period (45 days on some plans)
  • Unused months of an annual plan: no refund
  • Charges older than 3 days: no refund
  • Some export options on the Standard plan, which Dialpad limits

Where to switch to

DestinationPrice fromVisit
RingCentral RingEX
No affiliate relationship
$20 per monthVisit RingCentral RingEXOn ringcentral.com
Nextiva Business Phone Service
No affiliate relationship
$15 per monthVisit Nextiva Business Phone ServiceOn nextiva.com
Zoom Phone
No affiliate relationship
$10.50 per monthVisit Zoom PhoneOn zoom.com

Leaving Dialpad is mostly self-serve: you generate your own port-out PIN, and small monthly accounts can cancel from the admin settings. The catches are the annual term, a short refund window and exports that are switched off until you ask. Facts below come from each company's own pages, read Sep 30, 2026. For porting in general, see keeping your business number.

Check your term and refund

Dialpad's terms renew every plan for the same length unless you tell customer service at least 30 days before the term ends. On an annual plan, ending early leaves you responsible for all charges for the rest of the annual term, plus any disconnection fee. Its refund FAQ gives a refund only if you cancel within 3 days of the charge; at 4 or more days into a monthly cycle there is none, and annual plans don't qualify. So time the move for the end of a term. Our guide to contracts and cancelling compares these terms.

Export first, and ask early

Dialpad's analytics export sends reports as a CSV download link by email, and reports can be scheduled. The recordings export, voicemail export and text-log export are not enabled by default: Customer Care has to switch them on, so ask before you start. Standard plan users get a limited set of export options. The data retention page says the access period ranges from 45 days to one year depending on the plan, and that data is deleted 180 days after the account is canceled. The terms give no period: account information is deleted on termination under the privacy policy. We use that worse reading: export before you cancel.

Port your numbers out

The new provider requests the port. Dialpad's port-out article has you go to dialpad.com/portout, enter the number and get a PIN generated automatically; every number you port out shares the same PIN. The account number the new provider asks for is the Company ID on your invoice. Don't cancel Dialpad until the new provider has the numbers. Dialpad's pages name no port-out fee and give no port-out time.

Where to port

  • RingCentral takes port requests in your online account with a digitally signed letter of authorization, and only to an active, paid account. Its porting FAQ says 5-10 business days, and 10-15 business days for landlines from smaller carriers. RingCentral covers the cost of negotiating the transfer, and the old service keeps working during the port if you make no account changes.
  • Nextiva publishes Dialpad-specific steps: submit a recent Dialpad bill, the transfer PIN and a signed letter of authorization in the Nextiva admin portal, and its porting team coordinates with Dialpad's carrier. Its porting article gives 5–10 business days, or 2–4 weeks with rejections, and Nextiva doesn't charge to port in.
  • Zoom Phone needs a license for each number before the port. Its porting guide gives 4-21 days for 99 numbers or fewer in North America, and names no port-in fee.

Cancel last

On a month-to-month plan with 10 licenses or fewer, cancel in Admin Settings under Billing Summary. Annual plans, or more than 10 licenses, go through the Customer Success Team.

Who should move now

Monthly customers can leave at any point in the cycle, though the charge already taken won't come back after 3 days. Annual customers pay out the year either way, so plan the port for the renewal date. Compare destinations in the business phone systems ranking.

Report an error on this page