Optional analytics and affiliate attribution are off until you make an affirmative choice.

Privacy settings

Optional analytics and affiliate attribution are off until you make an affirmative choice. You can allow them separately, reject both, or withdraw a previous choice.

Necessary page delivery, security and storage of your privacy choice continue. See our Privacy Policy.

Switching from Adobe Acrobat Sign: the 50% cancellation fee, your agreements and storage

Updated Oct 15, 2026

The short answer

Most Adobe plans get a full refund within 14 days of purchase. After that, cancelling an annual plan paid monthly costs 50% of the remaining balance, and annual prepaid plans get no refund. Adobe says agreements sent for signature stay accessible after you cancel, but storage drops to 2GB. Download signed copies and audit reports one agreement at a time. Dropbox Sign's importer takes DocuSign only, and SignWell and PandaDoc describe no Adobe importer.

The steps

  1. Step 1 · Fee applies after 14 days · 50% of the remaining balance (annual plan paid monthly)

    Check your plan type and the 14-day window

    Most plans: full refund within 14 days of first purchase. Annual paid monthly: 50% of the remaining balance after that; annual prepaid: no refund.

    source
  2. Step 2 · not stated on its pages · not stated on its pages

    Save signed copies of your agreements

    Access signed copies from the All agreements list.

    source
  3. Step 3 · At any time · not stated on its pages

    Download each audit report

    Download the audit report of each agreement.

    source
  4. Step 4 · 30 days after cancelling · not stated on its pages

    Get under the free storage limit

    Storage drops to 2GB per the Document Cloud FAQ (5 GB on this page); files in inactive free storage may be deleted.

    source
  5. Step 5 · Most templates take only a few minutes · not stated on its pages

    Upload and rebuild templates in SignWell

    Upload signed PDFs and template files under 50MB; recreate fields and signer roles.

    source
  6. Step 6 · not stated on its pages · Bulk import on all plans

    Or bulk import your archive into PandaDoc

    Import PDFs as completed documents; up to 150MB each.

    source
  7. Step 7 · not stated on its pages · Templates need Essentials, Standard or Premium

    Or rebuild templates in Dropbox Sign

    Create templates from uploaded files; its migration tool reads DocuSign templates only.

    source
  8. Step 8 · not stated on its pages · not stated on its pages

    Cancel the Acrobat plan

    Cancel in your Adobe account, or contact Customer Support for an annual plan (the stricter reading); cancel each plan separately.

    source

Carries over

  • Adobe says agreements sent for signature stay accessible after the plan ends.
  • An audit report downloads for each agreement at any time.
  • Month-to-month plans can be cancelled with no fee.
  • SignWell, PandaDoc and Dropbox Sign all take uploaded PDFs.

What you lose

  • Annual plans paid monthly cost 50% of the remaining balance to cancel after 14 days.
  • Annual prepaid plans get no refund after 14 days.
  • Free storage drops to 2GB, and inactive free storage may be deleted.
  • None of the three describes an importer for Adobe templates; you rebuild them.
  • No bulk export of agreements is described for Acrobat Standard.

Where to switch to

DestinationPrice fromVisit
SignWell
No affiliate relationship
$0 per monthVisit SignWellOn signwell.com
PandaDoc
No affiliate relationship
$0 per monthVisit PandaDocOn pandadoc.com
Dropbox Sign
No affiliate relationship
$0 per monthVisit Dropbox SignOn sign.dropbox.com

For most small senders, Acrobat Sign comes with an Acrobat plan such as Acrobat Standard, so leaving it means leaving that plan. The exit terms are Adobe's general subscription terms, and the cost depends on how you pay. We read Adobe's help pages and the destinations' pages on Sep 30, 2026.

Check how you pay before you cancel

Most plans get a full refund within 14 days of the first purchase. After that, an annual plan paid monthly carries a cancellation fee of 50% of the remaining balance. Acrobat Standard costs $14.99 a month on an annual plan billed monthly, so cancelling with 6 months left costs about $44.97. Month to month it is $24.99, with no fee. An annual prepaid plan gets no refund if you cancel before the year ends. Prices from its plans page, read Sep 27, 2026.

Auto-renewal can't be switched off, only cancelled; annual plans renew each year on the subscription date.

How you cancel is less clear. The account help page says you cancel in your Adobe account, but the Document Cloud FAQ says annual plans are cancelled by contacting Customer Support. We use the stricter reading: expect to contact support for an annual plan. Each plan, including any add-on, is cancelled separately.

Save your agreements and audit reports

In Acrobat, the All agreements list is where you can track status and access signed copies. Adobe also lets you download the audit report of an agreement at any time; that article is written for Acrobat Sign's Manage tab. We found no bulk export for Acrobat Standard, so plan on saving one agreement at a time.

When the subscription ends, Adobe says documents sent for signature are retained and remain accessible, but the 100GB storage quota drops to 2GB. Another Adobe page gives 5 GB, with 30 days to get under the limit, and warns that files in free storage may be deleted after a period of inactivity. We use the lower 2GB figure. Save what matters before you cancel.

Where to go

Dropbox Sign's importer takes DocuSign only, and SignWell's and PandaDoc's pages describe no Adobe importer. Plan on uploading signed PDFs and rebuilding templates.

SignWell. Upload PDFs, Word and other files under 50MB and rebuild templates; SignWell says most take only a few minutes, and its support team helps with migration. The guide is written for DocuSign, but the upload is the same. Light is $10 a month billed yearly, with unlimited documents. Prices from its pricing page, read Sep 27, 2026.

PandaDoc. Bulk import takes PDF, Word, PowerPoint, JPG and PNG files up to 150MB, on all plans, and stores them as draft or completed documents. It suits keeping your signed archive next to new documents. Starter is $19 per user a month billed yearly. Prices from its plan comparison, read Sep 27, 2026.

Dropbox Sign. Its template migration tool is DocuSign-only, so Adobe templates are rebuilt from files. Templates come with Essentials, Standard and Premium, and uploads are capped at 40 MB per file. Essentials is $15 a month billed yearly. Prices from its pricing page, read Sep 27, 2026.

Who should move now, and who should wait

Move now if you are within 14 days of buying, or on a month-to-month plan. If you are on an annual plan paid monthly, the fee is half of what the remaining months would cost; letting the year run out costs more but keeps the plan working, as long as you cancel before it renews. Compare the options in our e-signature ranking and see how we score them.

Report an error on this page